Ohio requires car owners to carry liability insurance against personal injury with minimum limits of $12,500 per person, or a total of $25,000 per accident. They also have to carry property damage liability of $7,500 per accident.
Which is basically nothing. $12,500 pays for an emergency room visit, a visit to a specialist, and about one to two months of physical therapy. If you are lucky.
Why doesn’t the state make them carry higher limits? Because the insurance companies don’t want to require higher limits – that would mean higher premiums, which would drive people out of the market. A lot more drivers would go uninsured.
The factual analysis is probably correct, but I think it’s wrong. If people can’t afford to pay for enough insurance – and we all make mistakes – they shouldn’t be driving at all. Period.
What is your best way of making sure you have enough insurance to cover your damages?
Ask your agent for a quote on uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage. If the other driver doesn’t have insurance, your UM/UIM insurer will stand in the place of the other driver.
I have been a lawyer over 30 years. I have testified in the Ohio legislature that Ohio’s liability limits should be raised. Twice. If you’ve been injured in an accident, talk with an experienced Cincinnati Personal Injury Lawyer about the case. Call me, William Strubbe, at 513-621-4775.
Because all situations are different, and because there may be other facts pertaining to your case that I don’t know about, you should not rely on this answer for legal advice. I am not your attorney, and no lawyer client relationship has been formed.